Showing posts with label ibm. Show all posts
Showing posts with label ibm. Show all posts

Wednesday, November 26, 2008

Tips for Setting up a New Project in IBM's Jazz Team Server

I've just set up my first few projects on IBM's Jazz platform.  It's dead simple, but there are a few things I've learned which are worth knowing.  I've listed them so others can benefit from my experiences.  

NOTE: this is all done with the Web UI.  Once you've completed these steps, its best to move to the Eclipse-based client for the rest of your configuration as the errors are less cryptic / actually exist.
  1. Think about what you need before you do anything.  You need to know what you will name your project (we named ours after the client), which process you will use (we are going for Scrum), what your development lines are (we have the default mainline and also an existing release (we have inherited a codebase) and what teams ("Team Areas") you will need (we have one for our client who will access the web UI as well as multiple for ourselves).  There are other descicions to make, but these are the ones you will need at the beginning.
  2. Create an admin user for your project area.  Give them JazzAdmin priviledges and also (temporarily) a Developer licence.
  3. Logged in as your project admin user deploy the bundled process configurations
  4. Still logged in as your project admin user, create the users you need, allocating them licences as appropriate.  As well as the "real" users, you will likely need a Build user.
  5. Before you create your Project area, deploy the bundled process configurations
  6. Create your project, making sure you select the process you want to use.  Add the users you have created as applicable.  Allocate the users to process roles (i.e. Team Member, ScrumMaster etc.)
  7. Create any additional Development Lines.  We kept the default "Main Development Line" but also added a "Support Development Line"
  8. Create team areas as required.  We had several - one for the client, one for our onsite support, another for the existing app maintenance, and a fourth for new development.  Team Members can belong to more than one team so don't worry about allocation when designing this layout.  Make sure when you create a Team Area that you select the required Development Line
  9. Allocate team members to the team areas as appropriate.  I choose to send the invite emails as this makes getting new members onboard easier
  10. Remove the default admin user (archive the account)
  11. Set up backups 
Additional Notes:
  • I've tried this on Jazz 1.0 and 1.0.1
  • It might seem as if you can't rename or archive some things after you've created them if you're using the Web UI.  Swap to the Eclipse client and you will probably be in luck.
  • I've not covered adding additional "Setup Work Items" which are automatically generated for each user upon creation.  This should be done before team members are added.  I'll cover this in a later blog post

Monday, November 17, 2008

Adding a Non-Eclipse Project to Jazz SCM

IBM's new Jazz platform works most intuitively when you're in an all-IBM world.  We're not in that world on my current project and were having to find our way a little (with excellent support from IBM).  Here's how to share a non-Eclipse project with Jazz SCM.

Pre requisites: I'm assuming you have some stuff in a filesystem you want to share.
  1. Download and unzip the RTC Client for your operating system - its any of the "Zip > Client" files under "Express-C", "Express" or "Standard".  They're all the same.
  2. Startup the RTC eclipse client - e.g ./RTC-Client-1.0.1-Win/jazz/client/eclipse/TeamConcert
  3. Switch to / open the Java Perspective (Window > Open Perspective > Other... > Java)
  4. Switch to the Package Explorer View (if you can't see it open it by navigating to Window > Show View > Other... > Package Explorer)
  5. In the Package Explorer View (it should have opened in the left hand pane.  If not, open it by going to Window > Show View > Package Explorer) ...
  6. ... and right click in it and select New > Other
  7. In the dialog which appears type "Project" and select General > Project which should be visible
  8. Click "Next"
  9. Enter a project name (the name of the folder containing the files which you want to share is good)
  10. Leave the "Use default selection" ticked.  This will mean the project is created in your RTC workspace.  If you want it to be elsewhere, untick this and Browse to where you want it to be.  NOTE: we will be copying your project into this Eclipse project so don't point straight at the project you are going to share
  11. Click "Finish"
  12. You should see your newly created project in the Package Explorer View
  13. Right click on the new project in the Project Explorer and select "Import..."
  14. Type "file" in the text box and select General > File System which should be visible
  15. Click "Next"
  16. Click on "Browse" and select the folder containing the content you wish to share
  17. In the right hand pane, tick all of the contents of the folder you with to share.  Make sure the folder itself is not ticked.  You already have a folder with the same name you are importing into
  18. Click "Finish"
  19. Once the import has finished, expand your project in the Package Explorer and check that what you have imported is there.  You may have to press "F5" with your project selected to refresh if things are not visible
  20. Now you can share your project.  Right click on the project in the Package Explorer and select "Team > Share Project ..."
  21. Select "Jazz Source Control" and click "Next"
  22. Select a component to associate this project with.  (NOTE: See the Jazz docs for more detail on what a component is.  If you need to you can create a Component at this point in the process.  We'll assume that the components available include one which you want to use.) Click "Next" when you're done
  23. Tick the "Show all resources" checkbox and check that all the files you want to share are shown.  If you want to exclude files, you can select them and click the "Ignore" button.  Alternatively you can set a new pattern.
  24. Click "Finish"
  25. Switch to the "Pending Changes" view. (If you can't see it go to "Window > Show View > Other..." and select "Jazz Source Control > Pending Changes")
  26. Expand the workspace that you shared your project into.  You should see a folder called "Outgoing"
  27. Right click on "Outgoing" and select "Deliver"
  28. Congratulations! You've shared your project.